Liar, Liar

7 Jun

As founder of the most popular hip-hop jazz fusion group in the world, I’ve always had a keen sense of what’s happening. I was the first person to predict Barack Obama would become President – way back when he was a community organizer on the South Side. As a matter of fact, I’ve never been wrong. Until now.

I believed Anthony Weiner when he said his Twitter account was hacked and that he wasn’t the one who sent that infamous crotch-shot to a hottie in Seattle. I mean, the dude went on every news show on every network and proclaimed his innocence – he was the victim!

Turns out we were the victims.

All he had to do was get out in front of the story and tell the truth; in all “certitude”. But, no. He lied. Now he joins the long list of democrats who’ve been caught up in a web of deception. John Edwards being the most evil one on that list that I can think of at the moment.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m still a democrat. I stand with the party on the issues. But I won’t blindly defend those who commit indefensible acts.

8 Responses to “Liar, Liar”

  1. Scott Erb June 7, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    I didn’t believe him from the start. DC politics brings out the worst in people. If he had admitted his error and apologized right away, he’d not have been hurt so much by this. Everyone makes mistakes, has weaknesses and screws up now and then. Character belongs to those who can stand up and admit their mistake. It took Wiener too long to do so.

    • wordkitty June 8, 2011 at 12:31 am #

      Thanks, Scott. You’re absolutely right.

  2. Warm Southern Breeze June 8, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    I concur with Scott. The “Governator,” Edwards, Clinton, Eisenhower, etc., all had mistresses at one time in their lives. One thing about which I’ve opined is that it seems to me, that some want not a fallible man in office, but a god – someone with whom they can only remotely identify, someone whom they can idolize, even faintly worship. It ain’t never gonna’ happen. Of course, “deny, deny, deny, deny” is the password of the day when it comes to discovery. Even Nancy Reagan, when it was discovered she genuinely used horoscopes (horrible-scopes) to guide her and Ronnie’s daily affairs… well, it was past Bedtime for Bonzo.

    • wordkitty June 8, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      So right. It ain’t never gonna happen.

  3. Mike Elliot June 8, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Yeah…but here is the problem with all fo this. Forget the moral argument, forget the ethical argument let’s just get down to the standards argument. The voters have no standards and we continue to celebrate mediocrity in our leadership with comments like this, “Character belongs to those who can stand up and admit their mistake.” Let me remind you bub, the only reason this jackass apologized was because the truth was closing in on him, not because he has “character.” At least the Republican douche bag, Lee, had the good sense to resign. And I doubt because that was because of character either, but embarrassment.

    You guys may not share the same ideological viewpoint I do, and that is completely alright with me. I am down with political pluralism. But you better stop making excuses for these people just because you may like them and start holding them accountable. (This goes for both sides of the aisle and everything in between.) Washington isn’t their personal Disney World funded by you and I. It should be a place where serious business is done by serious people, not a clown show for TMZ.

    (Off soapbox.)

    • wordkitty June 8, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      I agree, Mike. Weiner should take a hike. But not on the Appalachian Trail!

      • Mike Elliot June 8, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

        Weiner had better stay away from Argentina, also. The women down there run in packs of super-models. Lol, I guess that is what got Sanford!

  4. Really Unreal June 8, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    The “I can’t say with certitude” was the dead give away. Did ya read my post:

    http://reallyunreal.wordpress.com/2011/06/03/weiner-needs-better-weiner-advice/

    The fact that he didn’t say it wasn’t him cause he’s not that big, that small, doesn’t wear gray undies etc. was proof positive something was just not right with his story.

Leave a Reply

